Close Menu
    What's Hot

    Sting Operation at Applewood Estate and Matters Arising

    October 27, 2026

    Bello’s ₦110.4bn Trial: EFCC Traces Kogi LG Funds to Company Linked to Adaudu

    October 27, 2026

    EFCC Witness: Arik Air Owed No Debt to Union Bank, Receivership Was Fraudulent

    October 26, 2026

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest creative news from FooBar about art, design and business.

    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    KokoCurrent
    • Get In Touch
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest
    • Business
    • Celebrities
    • Crime & Justice
    • Economy
    • Energy
    • Entertainment
    • Health
    Subscribe
    KokoCurrent
    Home»EFCC»Aisha Achimugu: Court Grants Final Forfeiture of ₦4.6bn Jewellery, ₦4.3bn Exotic Cars, $50,000, and ₦30m to Government
    EFCC

    Aisha Achimugu: Court Grants Final Forfeiture of ₦4.6bn Jewellery, ₦4.3bn Exotic Cars, $50,000, and ₦30m to Government

    Staff EditorBy Staff EditorJuly 16, 2026No Comments3 Mins Read
    Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Email
    Share
    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Email Copy Link

    A Federal Capital Territory (FCT) High Court sitting in Apo, Abuja, has granted a final forfeiture order over properties linked to businesswoman, Ms Aisha Achimugu, in favour of the Federal Government.

    The properties include jewellery worth ₦4,645,170,294.90 (Four Billion, Six Hundred and Forty-Five Million, One Hundred and Seventy Thousand, Two Hundred and Ninety-Four Naira, Ninety Kobo), 11 exotic cars worth ₦4,293,000,000 (Four Billion, Two Hundred and Ninety-Three Million Naira), $50,000 (Fifty Thousand United States Dollars), and ₦30,000,000 (Thirty Million Naira) in cash.

    Justice Jude Onwugbuzie granted the order on Thursday, July 16, 2026, while delivering judgment on an application filed by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for the final forfeiture of the properties.

    The assets were found by the EFCC to be proceeds of unlawful activities. Investigations by the Commission followed its receipt of financial intelligence indicating huge inflows and outflows through more than 136 bank accounts linked to Achimugu, involving billions of naira and millions of dollars.

    The investigation further revealed that the substantial funds that passed through companies operated by Achimugu were not disclosed as revenue in the companies’ financial statements filed with the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS).

    In the course of the investigation, the EFCC executed search warrants at Achimugu’s residence, where the forfeited assets were recovered. During interrogation, she was given an Assets Declaration Form to complete but did not disclose the recovered assets as her properties.

    The EFCC’s findings showed that the huge sums received into accounts linked to Achimugu were not derived from legitimate business activities and that the recovered assets were not from lawful sources.

    Following the outcome of the investigation, the EFCC, through its legal team led by Ekele Iheanacho, SAN, filed an application for an interim forfeiture order over the properties in favour of the Federal Government of Nigeria, pursuant to Section 17 of the Advance Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences Act.

    The matter came before Justice Jude Onwugbuzie, who, on April 23, 2026, granted the application and directed the EFCC to publish the order in national newspapers, inviting any person in possession of, or interested in, the assets to show cause within 14 days why a final forfeiture order should not be granted.

    The EFCC complied with the court’s directive and published the order. It subsequently filed a motion for the final forfeiture of the properties.

    Achimugu, through her legal team, filed affidavits to show cause why the assets should not be forfeited, as well as a motion seeking to set aside the interim order. The EFCC opposed the application through a counter-affidavit.

    After hearing arguments from counsel for both parties, the court adjourned the matter until July 16, 2026, for judgment.

    On Thursday, the court delivered judgment and granted a final order forfeiting the assets to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

    The court held that Achimugu failed to dislodge the evidence presented by the EFCC and did not discharge the burden of proving that the assets were acquired from lawful sources.

    Share. Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr Email
    Previous ArticleAlleged ₦3.1bn Fraud: Suswam’s Absence Stalls Adoption of Final Addresses
    Next Article Supreme Court Restores Final Forfeiture of Emefiele’s Multi-Billion Naira Properties, $2.045m to FG
    Staff Editor
    • Website

    Related Posts

    EFCC

    Sting Operation at Applewood Estate and Matters Arising

    By Staff EditorOctober 27, 2026
    EFCC

    Bello’s ₦110.4bn Trial: EFCC Traces Kogi LG Funds to Company Linked to Adaudu

    By Staff EditorOctober 27, 2026
    EFCC

    EFCC Witness: Arik Air Owed No Debt to Union Bank, Receivership Was Fraudulent

    By Staff EditorOctober 26, 2026
    EFCC

    Olukoyede Now a Fellow of MINILS

    By Staff EditorOctober 23, 2026
    Judiciary

    KC Luxury Arrives in Court in Ambulance, Seeks Medical Bail

    By Staff EditorOctober 23, 2026
    Judiciary

    $242m Petroleum Products Diversion Claim: UBA Secures Court Order Against Vitol, Four Others

    By Staff EditorOctober 22, 2026
    Add A Comment
    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Editors Picks
    Latest Posts

    Subscribe to News

    Get the latest sports news from NewsSite about world, sports and politics.

    Don't Miss

    Sting Operation at Applewood Estate and Matters Arising

    By Staff EditorOctober 27, 2026

    Operatives of the Lagos Zonal Directorate 1 of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC)…

    Bello’s ₦110.4bn Trial: EFCC Traces Kogi LG Funds to Company Linked to Adaudu

    October 27, 2026

    EFCC Witness: Arik Air Owed No Debt to Union Bank, Receivership Was Fraudulent

    October 26, 2026

    Olukoyede Now a Fellow of MINILS

    October 23, 2026
    Demo
    Top Posts

    EFCC secures conviction of ex-legislative aide over N120.5m employment scam.

    September 26, 2025

    Nigeria approves plan to refinance ₦4tn power-sector debt

    August 14, 2025

    Tinubu sets 7% annual growth target by 2027

    August 14, 2025

    Owo church massacre: Five suspects arraigned in Abuja

    August 11, 2025
    Stay In Touch
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Pinterest
    • Instagram
    • YouTube
    • Vimeo

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest creative news from SmartMag about art & design.

    About Us

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Integer vehicula vitae risus nec consequat. Cras nec auctor lectus, non tristique massa.

    Facebook X (Twitter) Pinterest YouTube WhatsApp
    Our Picks

    Sting Operation at Applewood Estate and Matters Arising

    October 27, 2026

    Bello’s ₦110.4bn Trial: EFCC Traces Kogi LG Funds to Company Linked to Adaudu

    October 27, 2026

    EFCC Witness: Arik Air Owed No Debt to Union Bank, Receivership Was Fraudulent

    October 26, 2026
    Most Popular

    EFCC secures conviction of ex-legislative aide over N120.5m employment scam.

    September 26, 2025

    Nigeria approves plan to refinance ₦4tn power-sector debt

    August 14, 2025

    Tinubu sets 7% annual growth target by 2027

    August 14, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • TOS
    • Disclaimer
    • Privacy Policy
    © 2026 KokoCurrent.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.